Solstice reading day 6: Of Sticks and Strengths

6. Oak King – June 19:

A dedication to the Oak King, who is now near the height of his power in his battle with the Holly King.

This card shows us our strength. 

Well, DO YOU SEE ME?

Here I am!!

wielding a big stick at –

  • well, at Ontario Hydro for not turning our electricity back on before Tuesday evening,
  • at Xplorenet in New Brunswick, whom one has to phone to get an internet up-link repaired when it is busted by lightning and who have a 9 1/2 hour waiting line to take your call and then a 5 day wait until someone comes out here to fix it…..
  • and at Peter, for being on “vacation” and currently visiting all kinds of friends and relatives and eating nice food, while I have to eat whatever came half thawed out of my freezers…..
  • Grumble!!!!!

    Well, now to my other strengths – other than growling menacingly:

    Yes, I CAN deal with it all.

    It is a bit exhausting, but I manage. I always do. Stuff like quiet meditation will have to smoulder on the back-burner, but I have a lot of resilience to deal with all the little nasty stuff life throws at me/ us in our daily life.

    At times I have to reach a little deeper into my back pocket to find it and pull it out.

    For example, I have good people skills and with a few phone calls i managed to circumvent all the work order waiting lists and procedures at Xplorenet and have someone come up from Barrie right away. I knew someone who knows someone who knows someone who is / was a patient of mine and was glad to do me a little favour…..

    I got all my wildlife sorted: 2 Raccoon mothers, one not very healthy,, poor thing –  are getting medical care and their food and water on 2 DIFFERENT sides of the house, so that the growling and bite-fights stop. The Mother Bear, that comes around in late afternoon – 2 small cubs in toe, sadly gets none of the cat kibbles but I put some of the stuff from the freezer, that was “out over 24 hours” into the bush close to her day-bed for her, where only she can go and all the Coon- caboodle can not…..

    I am even up to snuff with my jewellery orders! 🙂

    when my strengths alone is not enough or I need the finesse of others, I know, when to call for help and I do.

    For right now, all my sticks are sorted and I can let my guard down a little…..

    Hey man! I am even learning something: How to use our new fancy cell phone for more than just calling people! 🙂

    I now can show off a brand spanking new app telling me about Ontario Hydro power outages and another one that has a tornado warning system.

    I just respectfully hope, that I will never need to use either of them…..

Leave a Reply

