Solstice reading card 10 Bear Medicine

10. Saint John’s Eve – June 23:

Like the herbs traditionally gathered on St. John’s Eve, this card shows what protects or heals us.

The Guardian = there is no “Devil” in the Greenwood Tarot.

The skeletal Spirit of a long extinct Cave Bear rises growling at the entrance of her fiery cave, barring entrance to anyone who does not have the right combination of gumption, humility and knowledge to make it past her into the sanctum of the deep and honest Self.

She is the pompous ass and big ego eater and every aspiring shaman will get confronted and rejected by her over and over and over again. (They are all on Facebook, writing about their wondrous feats – in case you wondered.)

If you make it past her, she will protect you, from them, and ultimately from yourself.

How I got past her the very first time, many decades ago is a looong story…..

For me and my People in Siberia Ee’ren Adik the bear is the Guardian of the Eastern Door – the one leading into the future, where among all the nice stuff also all the “albis” lurk, the disease spirits a Medicine person must battle with.

Here in Canada, Ma-qua the Bear is the one who teaches you about strengths, goodness and knowledge of self – Bear also teaches healing with herbs and guides shamans and healers when working with patients.

I treat my patients while they are resting on a large Bear fur…….

I find it very auspicious seeing, that herbs were gathered on this day.

I DO have quite a beef with christian saints appropriating ancient old traditions and giving them a christian whitewash and could write 5 pages on that.

The Summer Solstice was and is the special time, when northern European pre-christian People used to gather their healing herbs and put them up for winter use!!

Today “Bayan Adik” is growling at me for running myself ragged and also seeing to it, that I get another day of rest. To make it easier for me the electricity came back on and – good or bad – 2 of my clients for Tarot readings cancelled on me today, citing the nasty thunderstorm weather we are still having as a reason.

So I am resting in my Bear Cave today, waiting, until I have some more meat and some fur on my bare bones again.

I will need that tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

